Western University EconomicsWestern Social Science
  • Professor Emeritus David Laidler: 2015 Thomas Guggenheim Prize Recipient

  • Professor Lars Stentoft: CRC Research Chair in Financial Econometrics

  • Professor Salvador Navarro: W. Glenn Campbell Fellow - 2015-2020

  • Professor Charles Zheng: Christopher J. Grimes Faculty Fellowship, 2015-2020


Glenn Stevens Awarded Companion (AC) in General Division of Order of Australia

Glenn Stevens (MA 1985), Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia for the past decade, will retire in September and has been awarded a Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia as part of the Queen’s birthday honours. He is one of 13 people to be awarded the AC this year for “achievement and merit of the highest degree in eminent service to Australia or to humanity at large”. (See St. George & Sutherland Shire Leader.)

Trent Stangl Appointed to Canadian Investor Relations Institute (CIRI)

Trent Stangl (MA 1991), Senior Vice President, Marketing & Investor Relations at Crescent Point Energy since January 2016, has been appointed to the Canadian Investor Relations Institute (CIRI). Mr. Stangl has worked in the oil and gas industry since 1991 in a variety of roles. (See the Business Wire.)

Jarislowsky Chair in Central Banking Announced for Economics

President Amit Chakma has announced that The Stephen A. Jarislowsky Chair in Central Banking will be established in the Department of Economics, thanks to a generous donation from the The Jarislowsky Foundation. The $2 million endowed gift, to be matched by Western, aims to encourage excellence in teaching, mentorship and research in areas essential to central bank policy and decision-making. By building on the Department’s existing strengths, the Jarislowsky Chair will continue and enhance Western Economics’ significant contributions to central banking in Canada and internationally

>Read All


50th Anniversary (site available shortly)

Master of Financial Economics

Ivey/Economics Combined Degree


Limited Duties Appointments





Find an Expert


Research Centres


Please contact economics@uwo.ca if you require information in plain text format, or any other accommodation to make physical space accessible to you.